Pearl Harbor

23 Vernal 6

We pulled into Lualua Bay briefly to take on ammunition which concluded sooner than expected. Not expecting liberty for the evening we eagerly transited the harbor to Pearl, a day earlier than expected.

I was craving a dark beer, but as such a late hour we only stayed on base. Unfortunately beer there was terribly overpriced. So I traveled across the ocean to drink shitty domestic beer, and sub par Taco Bell. The next day however was a bit more promising. Though our liberty hours were short Aaron and I made the best of it; stocking up on supplies like everyone else, but then walking over to the USS Arizona memorial. Our tour guide’s story was this…

On December 7th 1941 I was a nine year old boy. My house overlooked the harbor and I saw from my front yard the sky fill with enemy planes. I saw the bombs exploding and the black smoke rising from the ships. One of the Japanese planes that was shot down crashed a few hundred meters from my house. I saw the pilot struggling to point his plane as he crashed.

Leave a Reply

