Mastering the art of wet shaving.

I am on the third day of using my double edge razor that I got for Christmas which you can read about in “What they don’t tell you about a double edge razor.” Today I am happy to say I shaved scratch free.  Following the advice from a comment on my previous post I am one step closer to mastering the ritual of a wet shave.

flickr:  Jump-Punch

I first brought a bit of water to a boil in a teapot then poured it into my sink where I then placed my soap bowl into.  I don’t know if there is any scientific evidence for doing this but I liked the idea of the whole thing warming up before I used it.

Next I brought a wash cloth out of the towel in the hottest water I could stand on my face.

I lathered up soap making sure to remove excess water from the brush.  Once I had soft peaks I lathered up and shaved gracefully in short strokes with the grain making sure no to apply any excess pressure.

I repeated this process for a total of three shaves, once with the grain, and twice across in opposite directions.

After the final shave I placed a cold towel on my face to close the pours then applied witch hazel to my face with a cotton ball

Shaving has never been so fun!  While it still wasn’t the closest shave, I proved that I could get a shave from a double edge razor as good as one with an average Mach 3.

I am more determined than ever to master shaving and look forward to tomorrow’s ritual.  Now I’ll begin experimenting with different blades, and soaps.

4 Responses to Mastering the art of wet shaving.

  1. […] Addendum:  Read the continuation of this story here. […]

  2. Steven says:

    Great! One word of advice. Remember they call it WET shaving for a reason. Don’t be stingy with the water on the brush, or during re-lathers.

    Soak the brush in your lathering bowl in hot tap (not boiling) water while you prep. Do try the washing with a glycerin soap and leaving most of it on your face after only a light rinse (unscented glycerin soap you can find for a buck or so at the store.) But I truly recommend the Musgo Royale Glyce Lime Oil soap. If you do use the soap, you can usually bypass the hot towel (but its still a nice luxury).

    I like the school of thought of flicking your brush once and then building lather- not really into a dry brush to start, myself. I also like to “dunk” the tip of the brush every now and then to refresh water – some people just dribble a drop or two on the top though. A good wet lather that really transform a cream to super improved lubricity. (of course, too much will utterly ruin it, but you can recover by just using a little more soap/cream)

    If you are using a hard soap, I recommend trying a “super-lather” using Kiss My Face unscented – available at any health food store. Just put a few drops into your lathering bowl, swirl your soap like normal on your brush, then whip it up in the bowl. KMF unscented is a great booster for many hard soaps.

    Remember, the best part about wet shaving is constant experimenting and exploration. Have fun with it and don’t let yourself fall into a routine – although be careful – the soaps, creams, and tools can really add up!

    Email me with your address (you appear local), I’ll send you some of my cast off supplies – soaps, blades, etc..

  3. […] those who usually smile and wave suddenly avoid eye contact.  Especially if I haven’t shaved in a few days.  Maybe I look intimidating.  At 6′2″ I could give them the benefit of […]

  4. […] I imagine his search engine pointed him here. […]

Leave a Reply

