Yet another reason I stopped watching Cable News years ago.

If one were to have watched five hours of cable news, one would have seen about:

* 35 minutes about campaigns and elections
* 36 minutes about the debate over U.S. foreign policy
* 26 minutes or more of crime
* 12 minutes of accidents and disasters
* 10 minutes of celebrity and entertainment

On the other hand, one would have seen:

* 1 minute and 25 seconds about the environment
* 1 minute and 22 seconds about education
* 1 minute about science and technology
* 3 minutes and 34 seconds about the economy
* 3 minutes and 46 seconds about health and health care

From: Framing Science
Further Reading: Less is More

2 Responses to Yet another reason I stopped watching Cable News years ago.

  1. Robin Datta says:

    I stopped watching television when I was mobilized in the “oil volunteer army” for Desert Storm.
    And that episode was because the country ighnored Carter’s MEOW (“Moreal Equivalent of War”) speech. The saga continues.

  2. Corey says:

    I’ll have to check out Carter’s speech. I still get goose bumps every time I hear Ike’s fairwell address to the union. I was always amazed at how little I missed television on deployments. It almost seemed like a chore to get back into it after coming home.

Leave a Reply

