Dexter: Added to the list of good television.

The last thing I need is to become engrossed in another television show. Thanks to netflix though and my wife’s persistence that’s exactly what happened when the first disk of Dexter came in the mail. I prefer watching shows through netflix because I can essentially watch an entire season in the matter of a week. In fact all of my television now has migrated away from the actual broadcast. Since ABC thought it was necessary to put Lost on late into a Thursday night I catch it on streaming HD.




flickr: Montana Becky

Dexter is, well amazing television. While I don’t consider myself an expert on what is good TV, the following has made my list:

Lost
Twin Peaks
Quantum Leap [still]
6 Feet Under
Pushing Daisies
Arrested Development
Battle Star Galactica
Freaks and Geeks
The Wire
MST3K
X Files

Back to Dexter

I started streaming season 2 from Showtime’s website. I’m disappointed in the first episode but I can’t tell if it’s due to the quality or the over zealous bad dubbing. Its a show about a serial killer that gets pretty graphic, I don’t think it’s necessary to dub in phrases like “mother lover” and “frickin”. I doubt they’re dubbing it for broadcast so why now? I figured the internet would be the place to throw in all the extra stuff. Apparently what’s happening is the censored version for CBS is being streamed. I’ll give it another two episodes, but I don’t know how much longer I can stand it. Maybe it’s the excuse I’m looking for to get back some more time in my day.

2 Responses to Dexter: Added to the list of good television.

  1. matthew says:

    i, *ahem*, have the complete 2nd season on AVI. me and melanie are 3 episodes in. its good. its a little cheesier than the first, has a few over the top lines such as “i don’t want to die, i want to know how it feels to be alive, dad!”, but so far has already had several “oh my, how is dexter going to get out of this shit?” scenes.

    long time reader, first time commenter.

  2. Thumb says:

    Maybe dubbed for broadcast on ABC? I can’t imagine who the hell thought it would be a good idea to put an R-rated show on a goddamn network.

Leave a Reply

